Silent Wails on the Curfewed Night By Basharat Peer

The boycott

By the people

Was more painful

Than the insult and injury

Inflicted on my body and soul

Forever

On the night

Of my wedding

By the paramilitary soldiers

When my newly wed husband

Was left unconscious

With 5 bullets in his body

Unaware of the assault

I underwent

Repeatedly

Till I was rendered

Unconscious.

 

Now, I was

Talk of the town.

 

I was

“The bride who was raped”

“The bride who brought bad luck”

Yet, I live on

To bear the verbal attacks

And

To take care of my husband

(Who stood by me always)

And my children.

 

I hope

The morning of ‘Tomorrow’ smiles

On Kashmir

After the silent wails of

Raped brides in the

Darkness of the Curfewed Night!

5 thoughts on “Silent Wails on the Curfewed Night By Basharat Peer

Leave a Reply

